South Korea wins OW WC, Overwatch League Teams announced

In Esports, Gaming by DesposerLeave a Comment

In a development that will surprise no one at all, South Korea have won yet another major e-Sports championship, the 2017 Overwatch World Cup. This is their second consecutive championship, after their victory last year. The top 8 teams were decided after the round of 16, and on November 3-4 they battled out to see who would emerge as the Overwatch World Champion. On their way to the final, South Korea easily dispatched with USA and France, winning 3-1 in both games. Their opponent in the final, Canada, were beaten 4-1.

Top 8 teams

South Korea




United Kingdom





The Overwatch League

This championship comes during a critical time in Overwatch’s development as major e-Sports game. Blizzard (the Overwatch developer) has been making a huge effort to promote and popularize Overwatch since its launch just 18 months ago. One of the major projects is The Overwatch League and they have just announced the final 12 teams that will participate. The Overwatch League is a global tournament that includes 12 permanent franchises from cities around the world, each competing for 1st place and a bonus of $1 million. There are $3.5 million in performance bonuses that players can earn during this upcoming season. The Overwatch  League and its 12 teams, are a critical part of Blizzard’s vision for growing Overwatch’s popularity and impact in the e-Sports scene.

OW League Teams

Atlantic Division

Boston Uprising

Florida Mayhem

Houston outlaws

London Spitfire

New York Excelsior

Philadelphia Fusion

Pacific Division

Los Angeles Gladiators

Los Angeles Valiant

San Francisco Shock

Seoul Dynasty

Shanghai dragons

Dallas Fuel

All the teams and their rosters have been announced, and on December 6-9, the preseason will start at the Blizzard Arena in Los Angeles. We will be able to get a first look at the teams and see how they perform against one another. For fans like myself who still have not decided which team to support, this would be a good time to tune in and decide. I myself will probably end up supporting the London Spitfire, because I love their name and logo. Although I am surprised to see that they have no UK players at all as far as I can tell.

The regular season will run from January 10th to June 16th, also at the Blizzard Arena in Los Angles, which is Overwatch’s new home, and will host live matches every Wednesday through Saturday. The season is divided into four stages, and on the final Saturday of each stage, monetary bonuses and the title of ‘stage winner’ will be battled over by the best performing teams at that point.

The top teams will then battle to reach the championship from July 11-22.  The grand final is scheduled for July 26-28, and one team will be crowned the first over Overwatch League Champion, and receive a $1 million bonus.

Blizzard has also scheduled an All-Star weekend for August 10-12. This will be a more easy going event where fan favorites will compete in unexpected challenges.

I don’t know if you (yes you, reading this) are an Overwatch fan, although If you have read this far I’m guessing you are. Well If you are an Overwatch fan like myself, I think its time to get excited, because the Overwatch League is about to bring us more Overwatch than ever before!



Desposer is a long time gamer and e-Sports enthusiast. He thinks you should think what you want to think, but you should want to think what he thinks.

Care to share your thoughts?